Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Nanny wants £5 p/h gross?!

(29 Posts)
TheDetective Thu 21-Jan-16 20:28:07

Hi, I'm new to looking at the option of nannies. I've always used nursery/childminder if I've needed childcare.
However I'm now a single parent working unsociable hours, and realistically I'm in need of a nanny.
I've used the childcare.co.uk site to start my search. One lady I contacted sounds ideal. She is coming for an informal chat next week.
We discussed pay, or rather, she brought up the matter. She said she charges £5 per hour, gross. She said she would usually charge per child, but as I am needing her for 2 set days per week from 7am-8.30pm as a long term arrangement that she would simply charge me the £5 p/h.
I thought minimum wage was increasing to £7.20 in April? Shouldn't I be paying that? If she has set the rate, is that allowed? I have no idea really.
Any kind advice would be appreciated (please bear in mind I'm new to this option, and I am an NHS healthcare professinal - not on mega wages!).

thatstoast Thu 21-Jan-16 20:33:58

Sounds more like a childminder than a nanny. Perhaps she's misunderstood what you need?

balletgirlmum Thu 21-Jan-16 20:35:52

I agree it sounds like a childminder.
Is she clear that itceould be nannying in your home, not hers & she would be your employee.

Akire Thu 21-Jan-16 20:39:28

Yes childminder or she intends to do it cash in hand because she's claiming benefits?

Lolly1984 Thu 21-Jan-16 20:39:33

Is this in your own home? So she'd have no overheads and presumably eat your food etc? Childminders in my are charge £4 but I spose they can have up to 3 kids, but then there's overheads etc....
Not used a nanny myself, but would you be expected to pay for groups/soft play etc on top?
If ur happy with experience and references and your child likes her I wouldn't measure her worth by how much she charges. Good luck!