This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Au Pair

(14 Posts)
Sunny18 Wed 20-Jan-16 22:11:53

Hi,

I have decided to have an au pair to look after my 3 children (8,3 and 1) and she arrived last Friday, I am at home for a week to show her routine etc. She seems nice and chatty, but she only helps if you ask her to do something otherwise she is on her phone all the time. I am new to this and finding a bit frustrating to keep asking her. First thing in the morning she makes herself a coffee and looks on her phone, so I have to keep reminding her that she needs to help with children's breakfast. I don't know if she can cope when I am at work or am I being too judgmental.
Please advise.
Thanks

NotAMamaYet Wed 20-Jan-16 22:16:19

Hi, I was an au pair and it was an unspoken rule that phones/screens/skyping etc wasn't to happen around the kids

I'm sure if you just explain this to her she'll get the picture - I don't imagine any of her au pair friends will be 'allowed' to do this....

I certainly made sure my phone wasn't on me most times, just to prevent temptation

Jesabel Wed 20-Jan-16 22:20:37

A 1 and a 3 year old sounds a lot for a young babysitter to cope with all day - what's her childcare experience?

Sunny18 Wed 20-Jan-16 22:53:14

Children go to school and nursery full time, so her job to get them ready, breakfast, pick them up and sort dinner, tidy up after breakfast, dinner, but since she came I thought I would give her time to settle. So when I come downstairs in the morning, children watching tv and she is with her coffee and phone and all she asks, may I help you? And I kind of think, she could at least put some cereals for kids. And toys, all over the place, I kind of hint start tidying and she just sits there with her phone.
It's so annoying me now.
Maybe I should give her a chance? I don't know

Sunny18 Wed 20-Jan-16 22:53:51

By the way, she's 24, not 18