Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Advice pls - best set up childcare / housekeeping

(45 Posts)
MNmum Tue 05-Jan-16 11:39:36

Would like some advice please about hiring home childcare / staff as i've never done it before.

I'm expecting my first child this spring and will then be on maternity leave for rest of 2016, after which I'll go back to working full time again. Once I start working, we'd like to have a full time, possibly live in, nanny to take care of little one. My husband and I both have jobs that don't always have set times (can discover during afternoon that its not possible to leave office on time) so nanny would need to be flexible.

While on maternity, I'd ideally like to have someone working at least a few hours a day to help me out and look after little one to allow me to leave the house at day time, catch up on sleep etc and for me and OH to have a night out now and then.

Any full time childcare would have to be willing to travel with us for holiday once/twice per year and then work full time while on holiday (of course all expenses paid).

In addition, we'd need someone to do housekeeping (cleaning, laundry, food shopping, cooking, ironing, basic gardening such as raking leaves etc) during this entire period. At the moment we have a once a week cleaner that cleans and irons.

I could afford to hire someone full time from when baby is born and in an ideal world I would have loved to have one person cover both baby and housekeeping duties, on full time schedule, from birth and onwards. It would drive me crazy to have a nanny that refuses to help me with anything not 100% baby related or who wont, for example, bring me a cup of tea while i'm feeding the baby. We can offer accommodation for a live in, but only a small bedroom and shared bath room. Driving wouldn't be necessary.