Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Reducing nanny hours - arrgg?

(14 Posts)
flashbunny73 Wed 22-Jul-15 11:50:49

We have a great nanny who has been with us for 4 years. We have 2 children who both love her. We are very lucky to have her and she is just fantastic. I have been working 4-5 days per week for the past 4 years with the exception of my maternity leave. During maternity leave she agreed to reduce her hours to 1.5 days per week (she usually does 2.5 days per week).

My industry is going through a bad time and I am struggling to find work (I am self employed). The outlook looks grim atleast until January. I have luckily secured 40 days work over the next 4 months (ie average of 2.5 days work per week). My son also goes to nursery 1 day per week and then we have the nanny 2.5 days per week. He really enjoys nursery so I am reluctant to drop it.

Given I dont have as much work to do I would like to take the opportunity to spend more time with my DS and DD. In the last 6 months the nanny has bought a new house and has an increased mortgage (we account for about 60% of her income).

I would really like to reduce her hours to 1.5 to 2 days per week but I dont want to a) piss her off, b) lose her or c) give her financial trouble. I have been trying to smooth the situation by asking her to do cleaning, fill in at the nursery etc.. She is aware of my work situation.

How do I go about this? Am I being fair?? Has anyone else had this dilemma?

minderjinx Wed 22-Jul-15 13:38:26