Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Good and bad pints of becoming a childminder

(15 Posts)
massagegirl Sat 18-Jul-15 22:45:23

I'm seriously thinking about becoming a childminder. I am a primary teacher and feel I want a change. Once we have found hex work on our house I think it would be a practical space. I have my own two year old. What are your experiences of being a childminder?

massagegirl Sat 18-Jul-15 22:46:31

Points not pints in title! Obviously pints and childminding don't go well together!

mrsnewfie Sun 19-Jul-15 14:00:41

I am a childminder at the moment but returning to teaching in September.

The main good points are much less workload (in the evenings) and freedom to come and go as you please.

However, i have found the following negatives:
- unless you have a dedicated playroom, all the toys and crap take over your house
- parents can be a bloody nightmare (but equally lovely)
- sick children spreading disease to the whole house and then you lose money
- no holiday pay/time with your own children.
- not the best job security as people move away, etc
- prepare yourself for not being able to make a bond with every child you care for and having them with you potentially five long days a week. This has been the biggest challenge for me!
- long hours
- lower pay with no benefits (pension)
- not being able to take your own children to clubs, thing they might like to do
- the list goes on!

I don't want to totally put you off. As you can see, I'm not totally enamoured with the job! I tried it twice and I'm definitely sticking with teaching this time. Maybe you could try another school before you make the move to childminding?

hooker29 Sun 19-Jul-15 16:27:57

I've been minding for 16 years. There are pro's and cons, as with every job. I love it and can't imagine doing anything else (unless I win the lottery!).
Positives are: