Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

setting the rules

(15 Posts)
wizzywig Sun 28-Jun-15 14:53:56

hi all. im relatively new to employing a nanny and im finding certain things a bit uncomfortable to deal with so im coming here for advice.
my new nanny is new to nannying/ childcare and is doing a nanny share with a family who has one child and is in a wealthy family. we, on the other hand, have 3 kids with disabilities and havent got cash to spend on luxuries. the nanny herself has grown up with money.

Anyway, she is wanting to do a lot of expensive activities in the summer holidays (eg, £50-100 a day stuff). these activities would only be suitable for one child which means the other two would be at home with me.
how can i say politely: 1: im employing you to find things that are for all the kids. 2: yes my kids may seem boring compared to others who do scouts/ swimming etc etc but they have disabilities, they really need more down time than others. 3: please be conscious that for us, money doesnt grow on trees. i wish it did but it doesnt.
i know i need to grow a pair of female balls x
thanks

Maryann1975 Sun 28-Jun-15 15:10:35

I think you've just got to talk to her. When I was a nanny I found cheap/free things to do with the children all the time (nature walks/toddler groups/park). It was a rare treat if it had an entrance fee (soft play/farm visits). I was always aware that the families who were employing me only had a certain amount of cash and that employing a nanny was already a more expensive option and I didn't want to add lots of expensive treats on to that.
But we used to have really good fun.