Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Checking Out Your Childminder?

(37 Posts)
MustangSally1983 Thu 12-Feb-15 10:13:43

I have had some bad experiences when hiring childcare's over the last 12 months, some have been unreliable and others even worse. This has happened both when hiring through agency and private, my BIL suggested that I should start doing background checks on them with someone like before they start. He's a developer and does it with all his contractors, AIBU background checking?

I am not looking to find out anything overly private, just set my mind at rest that they are who they say they are and don't have any huge financial warning signs. smile

HSMMaCM Thu 12-Feb-15 10:32:58

Wouldn't worry me if you checked up on me, but references from other parents or watching me at toddler groups might be more useful.

Tanith Thu 12-Feb-15 10:34:02

If you are looking for a childminder, OFSTED have already done these checks. You need to ring them and they'll confirm the childminder's registration.

Do you mean a childminder, though? Sounds like it's a nanny or au pair you're trying to find. Some nannies are OFSTED registered so you may still be able to check through them.

LetticeKnollys Thu 12-Feb-15 10:49:49

What Tanith said, check them with OFSTED, they should be able to provide you with more relevant information such as any complaints that have been made.

I am currently setting up as a childminder, I think it's a really good thing that OFSTED holds child carers accountable and parents can check them out. As for this site, I don't have anything to hide but I'd find someone looking at information about my family living with me, property etc. intrusive, although I know I wouldn't be able to stop you and you'd probably never tell me you had done it.

Cindy34 Thu 12-Feb-15 11:22:55