Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Bathing routine

(8 Posts)
hms14 Thu 15-Jan-15 03:50:23

Hi everyone. Newbie here and my first post lol.
Iv been reading around and J&J doesn't seem ideal for babies. Currently i occasionally massage olive oil onto my babies skin n then wash it off with water and J&J products. Im confused when i should apply the olive oil. After the bath (until next bath) or before (all washed off during bath). And whats the safest product. Its becasue i suffer from mild ezcema and have noticed some dry patches on my babies skin. Many thanks x

eeyore12 Thu 15-Jan-15 06:50:57

Hi I am an infant massage instructor and I would advise against j and j products just because they are not natural oils etc. olive oil or vegetable oil are good for massage and dry skin organic if possible but as they come so don't add any essential oils as they can mask not only your smell for the baby but also any signs the oil has gone off. I would say to put it on after a bath and /or in the morning (never on their face) and leave it on. It will quickly soak in being a natural oil.

Basically I tell my clients any oil they have in their kitchen cupboard and happy to eat themselves (except almond/nut oils) are fine as baby will put hands/feet in their mouth so natural oils are best.

hms14 Fri 16-Jan-15 02:48:45

Thank u for that. So what should i use on my babies face. I want to keep her moisturised. Also wouldn't all that oil cause oil skin in the future leading to acne and spots?? Sorry ftm so over thinking it all.

eeyore12 Sun 18-Jan-15 16:57:34