Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Term Time only work

(10 Posts)
SweetieXPie Wed 07-Jan-15 18:19:37

I have recently posted that I am about to start my training to become a childminder l, I had some great advice, which I really appreciate.

I also wanted to check with other childminders, I only want to do term time work as we are often away in the holidays anyway or visiting family.
Do you think I will find it difficult to find work as I am assuming I am only making myself available to those who work in schools.

Do any childminders only take this type of work and if so have you found it hard to get work?

slightlyconfused85 Wed 07-Jan-15 18:33:08

Hi im not a CM but I use one term time only. I use her because I'm a teacher, as do others. I would say market yourself towards teachers and those working in schools and you'll not have too much trouble.

Daveface Wed 07-Jan-15 18:36:00

I use a childminder term time only (and only 3 days a week) as my husband is a teacher so he has them in the holidays. Perfect for us. When I was looking I found most childminders did all year round but I specfically wanted just term time. I don't think you will struggle

Jinxxx Wed 07-Jan-15 18:50:43

I work term time only. Customers are teachers, other school staff, university lecturers and other uni staff, students, parents who work for themselves or do contracting, parents with friends and family to help cover holidays, parents with lots of leave or even early retired! Parents with older children often need to cover the school holidays anyway, so adding a baby or young child into the school holidays equation doesn't make the issue any more problematic. There are also CMs who only do holiday care.

anewyear Wed 07-Jan-15 19:28:51

All my mindees contracts are term time only, saying that I do cover odd days throughout the holidays if needed.