Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

trial period for a nanny? is this possible?

(15 Posts)
bumbleandbumble Tue 06-Jan-15 21:00:48

I am interviewing nannies for the first time. We have found one we like, but as I am new to this I was wondering is it possible to offer her the job on a trial basis? Can I say lets see how you go after a few weeks?

Or should I not tell her that its a trial period and then if we are not happy just tell her its not working out...

Nannies- has anyone offered/said this to you? Is that normal procedure or am I being paranoid

namelessposter Tue 06-Jan-15 21:03:55

Yes, I have done this. And I have parted ways with one nanny when it wasn't working out as we both hoped.

namelessposter Tue 06-Jan-15 21:04:58

Yes, I have done this. And I have parted ways with one nanny when it wasn't working out as we both hoped.

BMO Tue 06-Jan-15 21:05:23

Lots of jobs have a probationary period with a week's notice from either side.

Tapestry12 Tue 06-Jan-15 21:37:08

4-6 weeks probationary period the norm. One week's notice for either party.

Cindy34 Tue 06-Jan-15 22:23:25

Have never had a trial period.

Having a probationary period in contract is fine, as then either side can end the arrangement if it is not working out by giving a shorter period of notice than that which may be in the contract for after probation.

Not sure that thinking things won't work out is a good way to start off. Could it be an indicator that you don't really want a nanny? Is it just nerves about having someone new care for your child/children, going back to work?

littleladyluna Fri 09-Jan-15 21:12:19

A probationary period written into the contract is fairly standard.