Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Employed or self employed

(14 Posts)
nihatsgirl Mon 05-Jan-15 08:47:45

Good morning ladies, just seeking opinions. I work as a contractor myself and need a nanny for 20 hours per week when I return to work after baby. I have a live in au pair for my older kids. I would like to offer the role as a self employed one. Please could you advise why this may be a good or bad idea? I see a lot of objection from the board for self employed nannies

DandyHighwayman Mon 05-Jan-15 08:50:33

You would have to convince HMRC that the job (nanny) would not be employment. Not simple.

Hopefully Nick and a few others will pop in to advise you further.

Mynewnamenotyours Mon 05-Jan-15 08:54:32

If she's required to work the hours you tell her to an she is required to work 20hrs per week at a set rate, and yYou are required to give her 20hrs work each week then she is employed. You cannot just pick which one you want, it is a matter of fact not choice.

Look at the table in the link below, i think to get the arrangement and reliability you require you will need an employee. A nanny is very rarely truly self employed.

www.rossmartin.co.uk/employers/essential-know-how/171-employment-status

nihatsgirl Mon 05-Jan-15 09:03:25

Thanks for the link I will have a look. I work in a similar capacity and I am self employed, so I don't see how HMRC should object. It's not a full time post and although hours are fixed, days worked is variable. She may be then seek other work elsewhere if preferred.

OddFodd Mon 05-Jan-15 09:19:02

If you work as a contractor but have fixed hours/days, you should be a limited company rather than self-employed otherwise your employer could be in breach of inland revenue regulations. And the same would apply to you with your nanny

nihatsgirl Mon 05-Jan-15 09:52:11