Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Looking for advice please

(10 Posts)
Becca132 Mon 22-Dec-14 15:52:26

I'm currently working as an au pair, and have been since August 2013, working for the same family. I've earmarked spring 2015 for my time to leave, and I'd love to move into nannying.

But, my problem is, I have no formal childcare qualifications - I do have a degree though, in fine art photography, but I have some experience, especially with young children. The children I mind are 2, 3 and 4, and I've been with them since they were 8 months, 2 and 3. I have sole charge of the 2 and 3 year old 5 days a week from 8am to 3pm (the 4 year old is at school), and I have all three on a Saturday morning for a few hours. I play with them, do crafts, bake etc, and I cook all of their meals. I do a few chores around the house (tidying, sorting toys etc) but we have a housekeeper who comes in so I don't do too much when it comes to cleaning and laundry.

Do you think there would be any chance I'd be able to find a nannying job if I started looking, or would the fact I don't have a qualification and only really have 16 months of real childcare experience be an issue? Where would I even start with looking for jobs?! I've googled it but it's a bit of a minefield! I'll be back near to Edinbugh when I finish up next year.
I'd love absolutely any advice anyone can give me, I love au pairing I just need to move on to something a bit better paid so I can start doing 'stuff' with my life!

rockup Mon 22-Dec-14 15:58:34

Hi there. it sound slike you have some great practical experience. I say go for it ;)

nannynick Mon 22-Dec-14 16:32:53

Write a good CV. Write several sentences about what you did in this job focusing on the sole charge childcare.