Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Worried about childminder availability... Am I being unfair?

(18 Posts)
BitWorriedArgh Mon 08-Dec-14 23:46:06

I'm returning to work in a couple of months time (DD will be 10mo) and feeling really worried about childcare at the moment - but I might be being incredibly unreasonable and unfair so I hope someone can put me straight if so. I've never done this before so I have no idea what I should expect and I'm so worried I'm being horrible that I've changed my name! blush

Anyway I found a lovely childminder who lives very near us and is extremely warm and nice, and seems very good with DD. She will be one of only two mindees (and she has two kids of her own but slightly older). We found her well in advance and so we've decided to do some pretty gradual settling in - I realise this is quite a luxury! - the plan was to do an hour a week for a few weeks and then build up time from there.

My conundrum is this: over the last 7 weeks of trying to do an hour a week she has cancelled more than half of our sessions. We've done three now and not got past an hour in length, plus they've been fairly spaced out so I think DD has almost forgotten her by the time the next one has come round. The reasons are all serious/valid - illness, accidents, family emergencies - but I'm a bit shocked by the frequency.

Basically if I was already back at work one of us would have had to have taken leave/organised emergency childcare for several days in 4 of the last 7 weeks. With the best will in the world (and DH and I have very family friendly and flexible employers) that's just not going to wash with our workplaces.

I am hoping that it's just been a period of really bad luck but I'm worried it's going to continue sad