Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

** Some advice please (Childminder asking) **

(8 Posts)
MUM2BLESS Thu 04-Dec-14 13:26:48

I experience two cancellations this year just; for different reasons.

What have you got in place for parents who are taking up your services later rather than sooner?

I have never used a retainer before but I'm considering using a deposit system. What is a reasonable time to give parents if they are going to cancel without them loosing their deposit?

I guess I am looking at the money I could have made. I know its up to the parents if they cancel in good time.

Your advice is appreciated, need to respond to an email. Keeping a good attitude too.

Tanith Thu 04-Dec-14 13:52:29

If the place is unavailable until the child starts (usually because another is leaving), I ask for a non-refundable deposit. I will consider a refund at my discretion.

If I am holding a place open for a child who is unable to take the place yet, I ask for a retainer, also non-refundable.

I used not to charge for either, but got stung so many times by parents changing their minds and letting me know at the last minute, we nearly went out of business.

Tanith Thu 04-Dec-14 13:54:44

Oh, and no contract signed = no place. Also learned the hard way.

Jinxxx Thu 04-Dec-14 14:24:03

I learned the hard way to put a time limit on a retainer e.g half fees to hold a place for up to 20 weeks, thereafter full fees. I had a family repeatedly delay their child's start (for almost a year in total) and hadn't put in place anything in the contract to limit the length of time it could be deferred.

HSMMaCM Thu 04-Dec-14 14:49:26

The place is not theirs until paperwork and a 4 week deposit are complete. this deposit is non-refundable. (As Tanith said about discretion, in extreme cases, I might change my mind)