Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Nanny Christmas gift/ bonus

(28 Posts)
Ifyoubuildit Sun 30-Nov-14 08:51:51

Hi, I'm new to having a nanny, this has been out first year. Our nanny is leaving at Christmas and I want to get her a Christmas and leaving present. Is there any protocol around how much to spend?

I don't want to look stingy!

Blondeshavemorefun Sun 30-Nov-14 10:40:57

Is she Leaving out of her own doing?

I have always got a weeks salary and very appreiative of that. Some nanniea do get the same others don't. It depends on what you can afford

What you and any other employer needs to do is give a card and say thanks. Seems some don't even do that sad

And up to you for any bonus

Ifyoubuildit Sun 30-Nov-14 10:50:09

Thanks. Yes she's leaving because my work contract is ending, it was always a temporary position to finish at Christmas and she has a new job in Jan.

Blondeshavemorefun Sun 30-Nov-14 10:55:39

A small pressie and then some Cash or vouchers always goes down well if you can afford it

LightTripper Sun 30-Nov-14 12:01:11

Sorry for thread hijack but I have a slightly similar question... I have a nanny starting just before Christmas. Will obviously get her a gift (probably vouchers or some such as I won't know her v well yet!)

Should I also do a mini bonus pro rated from the annual amount though? Or is that a bit weird?

Blondeshavemorefun Sun 30-Nov-14 12:08:19

A small cash gift would be nice if you would normally give one. Ie next years xmas

But obv as only been there a short while not to give a weeks bonus - maybe a days?

AusBabysitter Mon 01-Dec-14 22:25:57

As a nanny, cash or vouchers are always much appreciated, rather than something you think we would like.

My boss doesn't do bonus' but all my friends get one. Would really come in handy with trip coming up but hey, I'm not complaining! I got a nice voucher for my favourite shop last year.