Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Tips for potty training

(4 Posts)
Childcarenamechange Tue 11-Nov-14 20:53:56

So I'm new to this nanny business! I adore it and the children I look after!

The youngest is 3 and just starting to show signs of awareness of bowel movements but not with any regularity. He has speech and language delay and potentially SEN so we are struggling with potty training. Pre school want us to bite the bullet and just put him in pants but just a bit concerned about the amount of accidents and distress caused to the charge. (He sometimes gets upset when changing if he has had an accident)

So essentially my question is do we wait or push it and deal with the inevitable accidents? And do you have any tips during this stage!

Bilberry Tue 11-Nov-14 22:29:23

As a mum, not a nanny, with a slow to train dc I wouldn't listen to anyone other than the charges mother regarding when to train. I put dc3 (also speech delay and mild sen) in pants when he was 3 and he is finally trained now - at 5. We have had two years of cleaning up puddles and dirty pants though the last year there have been less accidents as he has been toilet timed. This is another reason to listen to the mother as her carpets, sofa, car seat etc could take a fairly heavy hit! On the other hand most children train a lot quicker than this!

lovebeingananny Wed 12-Nov-14 10:58:39

I personally think that if he has speech delays and possibly SEN, then pushing him to potty train will be hard work on all of you.