Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Decided to get an au pair, now which agency? Do we use one at all?

(13 Posts)
Vicks605 Mon 31-Mar-14 09:00:10

Hi everyone

I am new to Mumsnet talk, so bear with me. After many months of agonising over different childcare options for my two young children, we have decided to go down the au pair route. We would like a Spanish speaker as my husband is fluent and we like the idea of the children learning to say a few words.

If I'm totally honest, one of the main reasons is cost as the nanny we were going to get was going to cost us about £12000 per year for three days a week in (private) school terms only, as I am a teacher. Could anyone offer any advice on au pair agencies or recommend one for us? We live in Lower Sunbury so Surrey or West London based would be sensible I guess. Have people advertised without an agency and been successful? Any advice at all on getting the right person would be most appreciated.

Also, I notice that some agencies are very clear that you should not leave an au pair in sole charge of a child under 2. My daughter will be 1 when she starts and I know that some people do use au pairs to care for children this young, especially as some of them have lots of experience in this area. Am I being irresponsible to consider this?!

Thanks in advance!

Victoria

bbkl Mon 31-Mar-14 09:34:50

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Vicks605 Mon 31-Mar-14 10:23:31

Thank you for that. That's really helpful. I know I probably want it all and guess I was hoping to find someone who had baby experience. A nanny share is a good option though. I'll look into it. Thanks again.

OvertiredandConfused Mon 31-Mar-14 13:23:36