Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

What is considered to be too much?

(13 Posts)
sunnyshines23 Sun 23-Mar-14 21:52:27

Hi, I work as a live-in nanny for a family and it's been a year now. I have only Sundays off and quite often my work goes more than 9 hours per day. During the Sundays, the parents let the children constantly into my room, ask me about random stuff and I kind of get the feeling that they even get irritated when I don't "work" on my days off.
Yeah, the schedule is flexible, however it is a lot of work and I am required to do everything around the house - including ironing of piles of clothes every day. That is for a thousand per month. I was wondering whether this is normal, since I have friends who work as nannies (and only take care of the children, nothing else) and get the same money for less hours.
I was wondering whether this is the case with all families? I am required to do absolutely everything. When we travel, my workdays start at 7am and often finish at 10pm..

OutragedFromLeeds Sun 23-Mar-14 22:39:11

I'd say you are being massively underpaid. Look for another job.

PigletJohn Sun 23-Mar-14 22:42:14

And you must, of course, go out of the house in your time off.

YuccanLiederHorticulture Sun 23-Mar-14 22:48:01

That sounds frankly abusive.

Agree you must just leave the house on your days off if they can't respect your time off - unless you are in the middle of nowhere you can hang out for free in places like libraries and museums.

Spend that time in a library searching for a different position. Not all families take advantage like that.

sunnyshines23 Sun 23-Mar-14 22:49:32