Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Male au pair

(7 Posts)
DLCC Tue 25-Feb-14 11:39:05

Hi there

I'm new to all this so please bear with me.....

My partner and I have 4 boys between us, aged 10, 9, 8 and 4. The 10 and 8 yo are with us 50% of the time, the 9 and 4 yo all of the time apart from EOW when they are with their Dad. I work part time (19.5hrs a week) and my partner works full time. I have been speaking to a colleague at work who has been raving about her au pair.

Basically what I wanted to ask was would it be unreasonable to have an au pair (I was considering male as we have all boys and they are very sporty/outdoorsy) to do the school run during term time but to help out more in the holidays (ie the 19.5hrs a week I am at work) play football with the boys, take them out occasionally, generally entertain them when we're not around. They would have every weekend off (apart from maybe 1/2 evenings a month babysitting and also during the day in term time. I would expect a little help with keeping the boys rooms tidy. Is this unreasonable? are there au pairs willing to do this? are 4 boys too much to ask someone to look after? what sort of money would I expect to pay them? we are in West Sussex. As as I said I've absolutely no experience of this type of thing so please excuse my ignorance...

Many thanks

DLCC Tue 25-Feb-14 11:40:36

Sorry I missed a closed bracket!

Should read:

They would have every weekend off (apart from maybe 1/2 evenings a month babysitting) and also during the day in term time.

Mydelilah Tue 25-Feb-14 12:22:46

Not unreasonable at all! au pair looks like a good option for you indeed.

We have 2 DC aged 5 and 3.5 and an aupair because we both work FT. It's not meant to be a full time job, really only 4-5 hours a day.

Here is what our aupair does:
Pick up from nursery and school