Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

I've only gone and got myself a nanny job...

(23 Posts)
letsgoflyakite Thu 23-May-13 23:01:56

In Greece!!

I'm handing in my notice for my current job (I'm a nurse in a hospital) and then in a couple of weeks I am off to Greece.

I'm so excited!

Hints and tips for working and living abroad are very welcomed! (Will be topping up the kindle and ipod and tablet with films)

mikkii Fri 24-May-13 06:29:33

Get a local pay and go mobile hen you arrive so you don't pay uk charges to receive calls.

If you have an iPhone or ipad then piggy bag on their broadband and facetime people. Or use skype.

Where in Greece? Most Greeks speak English so language shouldn't be a problem

NomDeClavier Fri 24-May-13 10:55:09

Lucky you!

Have a damn good contract, make sure you're clear on who pays for what (flights, insurance etc) and go in with an open mind smile

Sarah1611 Fri 24-May-13 11:37:47

Can I ask if its for a private family or a company?

WouldBeHarrietVane Fri 24-May-13 17:54:53

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

WouldBeHarrietVane Fri 24-May-13 17:56:23

OutragedFromLeeds Fri 24-May-13 18:05:58

<too jealous to comment>

envy

letsgoflyakite Fri 24-May-13 23:30:21

It's with a private family but via an agency. The contract looks pretty watertight, they pay for all flights, my flight out, when travelling with them, and 2 return flights a year to go home. The family are lucky enough to have a yacht so the island hopping starts pretty much when I do!

My EHIC card should cover me even whilst working, and I have nanny insurance but will need to probably extend that for overseas.

I am pooping myself. I keep thinking WHAT AM I DOING, but it's definitely the best decision... hopefully I'll be there for a long time. The baby is only young still.

WouldBeHarrietVane Fri 24-May-13 23:32:49

OutragedFromLeeds Fri 24-May-13 23:55:32