Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

50% retainer when DD is at nursery

(19 Posts)
loveisagirlnameddaisy Wed 15-May-13 10:14:36

Sorry if this has been covered endlessly, I don't usually visit this section of MN.

My DD is starting nursery in Sept and her CM has just given me a change of hours form. She will be picking up DD from nursery 2 days a week at 11.45am and taking care of her until 5pm. She is charging her normal rate for those hours but also charging 50% from 9am to 11.45am.

I've limited experience of CMs as she's been my only one. Is this standard practice?

ThePendant Wed 15-May-13 10:16:27

IME most CM would charge full fees while the child is at nursery as they can't fill their space for these limited hours and so are effectively taking up a space with the CM.

OddBoots Wed 15-May-13 10:28:10

Most if not all CMs around here would charge full fees during a part-day nursery session.

MirandaWest Wed 15-May-13 10:31:44

When I used a CM I had to pay full fees when DS was at nursery.

noblegiraffe Wed 15-May-13 10:33:39

You're getting a good deal, I also pay full fees - your DD is effectively occupying that morning slot.

christinarossetti Wed 15-May-13 10:38:17

Full fees here too - completely standard.

Twinklestarstwinklestars Wed 15-May-13 11:07:18

I charge full if I pick up and drop off, in school hols and if school closes for any reason they would need me to have the child, I wouldn't be on call for sickness though.

moogy1a Wed 15-May-13 12:36:42

Same here. Full fees whilst they're at nursery . In my case it's on;ly 3 hours out of an 11 hour day and I drop off / pick up.
But in the circs. in the OP I'd still charge full.
You've got a good deal.

AuntieStella Wed 15-May-13 12:38:58

It's a remarkably good deal. Full fees, or a token reduction (as consumables aren't being consumed) is the norm.

HSMMaCM Wed 15-May-13 12:48:21

I would charge full fees.