Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

what childcare

(10 Posts)
curran13 Tue 14-May-13 21:40:06

Hi, I am a part-time surgeon and will be going back full-time in Sept, unfortunately my marriage has become unbearable and I am wanting to separate from my partner (this has become inevitable). I will be looking for rented accomodation whilst i sort out the legal matters and I am frankly scared of doing all this on my own (my friends are in London and all busy with their own lives) and my mother is quite old and has her own life so i will essentially be on my own. My daughter is 13 months and adorable but a really bad sleeper and needs a lot of attention. For childcare my hours will be long from 8am to 6-7pm and i will be oncall frequently etc. I will need some sleep as well for all the commuting so in terms of childcare i will probably need 24/7 help as i don't think i can do it on my own - i'm not sure how to go about finding an aupair (or is it a nanny). If i can figure that out the thought of doing what i have to do wouldn't seem so awful (all the arguments we are having isn't fair on her and I want to leave this bad situation asap). She is at nursery at present and my husband is self employed and does the pickups on the days i am working.
Thanks

MsDeerheart Tue 14-May-13 21:44:14

nanny I think -and I would suggest some nights of a night nanny - and loads of threads on this section about how to find one - but I would post on relationships for some support - wouldn't move out if you can help it

OutragedFromLeeds Tue 14-May-13 21:47:42

The first thing you need to do is google 'au pair' and find out what they do. This absolutely is not a job for an au pair.