Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

how many loose nappys = tummy upset?? should i be sending home????

(23 Posts)
makemeslim Wed 08-May-13 13:44:54

Have a 15 month old very happy child , full of normal mischief, teething
( cause her mouth has not stopped dribbling wink), she has had 4 very very loose smelly nappys since 8am, should i be worried?? What would you do??

NarkyNamechanger Wed 08-May-13 13:47:21

I would send home. I'm not a doctor to diagnose the reason for loose bowels so I always send home.

peachypips Wed 08-May-13 13:49:00

My DSs have very loose nappies when teething. My CM always said 'nice teething nappies' in a jokey way when I picked up!
So I'd be a bit peeved if they'd been sent home.

NarkyNamechanger Wed 08-May-13 13:52:40

Peeved or not, I'd still send home. What if it WAS an infectious bug and went round everyone in the setting?

squinker45 Wed 08-May-13 14:06:35

Doesn't sound like an infectious bug if the symptoms include being happy and mischievous. If the child is clearly teething, I think you have your answer - you don't need to be a doctor

peachypips Wed 08-May-13 14:07:15

See your point... But if she always does this when teething then she'd be at home more than in childcare in her first three years!

OutragedFromLeeds Wed 08-May-13 14:09:15

I'd use your common sense tbh.

If they're fine in themselves, normal appetite, not being sick, but teething then it's almost certainly a teething nappy.

If you suspect it could be a tummy bug, then send home.

It depends a lot on what the normal nappies are like, what they've been eating etc. There are loads of reasons for a runny tummy.

OutragedFromLeeds Wed 08-May-13 14:11:23

If you want to cover yourself, you could send a message to the parents and give them the choice of whether to collect or not.

lechatnoir Wed 08-May-13 14:25:59