Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

CM looking after own children

(21 Posts)
blushingmare Tue 16-Apr-13 20:02:26

Can I just ask, is it normal practice for a CM to have their own children as their mindees? I met with a CM today and her 8 month old son is one of her mindees and I instinctively felt kind of uncomfortable about it. I work in a school and if we have parents helping out on school trips it's policy not to have them working with a group their child is in, the reason being that if there was an emergency a parent would naturally protect their own child first. Similarly I think if you have two babies crying in a room and one of them is your own, you'll see to your's first?

I get it when a CM has school age children that are there out of school hours, but to have such a young baby as one of their charges just didn't seem like a great model of care to me, or am I being too precious?

FoofFighter Tue 16-Apr-13 20:03:28

precious yes. sorry! completely normal practise ime.

VivaLeBeaver Tue 16-Apr-13 20:05:20

It's very normal. Never occurred to me it might be a problem.

grabaspoon Tue 16-Apr-13 20:07:20

Generally most childminders start childminding after having their own children smile

FuckOffMrBloom Tue 16-Apr-13 20:10:52

WTF? You can't be serious?

If you are then OF COURSE you are being precious. I'm a CM and most of the CMs I know have their own young DC. It's the whole reason many start, really, to stay at home with their own babies and look after others.

I can assure you that any CM worth their salt will treat all the children in their care completely equally.

I'm a bit sad that someone feels like this tbh.

sad

5318008 Tue 16-Apr-13 20:17:19

She will only be allowed to have one baby under 12 months anyway, which will be hers.

And yes perfectly normal