Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Advice needed from parents and nannies

(9 Posts)
nanny87 Mon 05-Nov-12 19:54:47

Hi just wanted to ask your opinion. I work as a nanny been in my current position since the start of the year but have found the position really hard, havent enjoyed it on a whole not completely enjoyed looking after the child. So now im thinking of other options and considering leaving some time after the near year. so i would of been in my current job around a year give or take. So just wondering when looking for jobs now parents will obviously ask why im leaving after quite a short period of time. Just wondering what the best response would be.
Thanks

ChippingInLovesAutumn Mon 05-Nov-12 20:06:05

Why haven't you enjoyed the job?

What is it you don't like about looking after the child?

How long have you been in other jobs?

nanny87 Mon 05-Nov-12 20:14:19

Thanks for the reply. I have 8years plus experience/qualifications to back myself up so on that side of it im not to concerned. But obviously parents will question why im leaving after such a short time. Its hard to pin point without sounding like an evil cow probably. But i haven't 100%bonded with the child even after being there for so many months full time. It sounds silly but he is a very whingy grumpy child 9times out 10 so find hard to be enthusiastic in this job.

JugglingChaotically Mon 05-Nov-12 20:14:39

I would tell the truth in interview as to why you are leaving but tactfully.
But have you spoken to the parents to give them a chance to fix it? Feedback is two way and it can be easier to fix a current role.
I know I would be horrified and really rather upset if my current nanny left having given me no chance to fix things or even discuss them.