Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

How much should I be paying an aupair?

(6 Posts)
Mumfortoddler Mon 24-Sep-12 11:09:06

Hello lovelies,

I'm looking into hiring an aupair, who would be responsible for nursery picks ups 2-3 nights per week plus around 3 nights of babysitting a week and maybe some babysitting over the weekends 1 in 3 weekends, and then finally to cover emergency illness. I'm totally new to this and would love to find out:
1) How much should I be giving them in weekly allowance?
2) What are the best/cheapest ways to recruit aupairs?
3) How should I select them?
4) What do you pay for, for the aupair, and what do you not pay for? (I.E. clothes/food etc...?)
Has anyone else got some innovative ideas about how I can organise childcare? I'm not on a great income and the cheaper the better...

I am moving to Leicester, away from friends, family and just about everybody I know to take up a regional manager position for a charity and the job hangs tentatively in the balance on this factor!?! Eeeek.

Anna

speechlessmum Mon 24-Sep-12 14:25:33

You pay £75 a week plus ALL food for 25 hours of help in return. If you live out of town it is usually expected that they have access to a car or some other means of getting around (you pay insurance costs). They pay for their language lessons.

If you have a young baby you will need to pay extra to get someone with enough experience to know how to deal with an emergency.

You can recruit yourself using aupair world.net or great au pair.

How should you select them? Send 2/3 emails. Skype them, go with gut feel, check references. Eveyrthign else depends. I always go for graduates, friends of mine swear by younger APs.

chloeb2002 Mon 24-Sep-12 22:02:00