Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Does somebody study at Stonebridge College?

(8 Posts)
BornToShopForcedToWork Wed 09-May-12 21:40:17

I started the Level 3 Child care course a month ago at Stonebridge and I was assured over the phone that it is a full Level 3 qualification. Today I read this article and now I am a bit angry.

I am not a "career nanny" and unless the current situation changes (One of my employers gets made redundant or similiar) I will stay in my position until my mindee goes to school and this will be my last nanny job. I am studying for my degree in the evenings over a four years period and will hopefully finish at the same time than my mindee goes to school. That's the plan. I don't need the course for my job BUT I need a qualification to get OFSTED registered. Studying for the course at Stonebridge College was the best option in my opinion and now after reading the article I am not sure what exactly I am studying for and want my money back.

Is anybody in the same position?

Divawithattitude Thu 10-May-12 07:23:49

No, but I am involved in Training and Education.

Stonebridge have been very clever in what they have said and do not appear to be meeting the requirements that NCFE, the awarding organisation have required of them. I would also be confused by the wording and what you have been told on the phone contradicts this wording. In your position I would ask for a refund, good luck at getting your money back!

Fraktal Thu 10-May-12 10:30:08

Similar to the PP I do a lot with training/education.

Stonebridge are misleading and they have a rep for it. I often warn against them on other sites.

I would definitely be asking for a refund, particularly if you remember and can prove that the conversation took place and included the words full and relevant qualification.

Fraktal Thu 10-May-12 10:30:39