Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

other nannies, what would you do?

(9 Posts)
taacrmachine Tue 11-Oct-11 15:05:06

I'm new to mumsnet so I'm not sure about all the abbreviations, here it goes.
looking after two boys, 2 and 4 1/2.
The 2yr old starts crying and screaming for parents if he is asked/told not to do something or if anything he does is discussed with him. I try to keep any conversation (unless about something dangerous) light, smiley and calm, but he still goes off the deep end. Anyone have any idea about how to stop this reaction, feel like any contradiction I make to his behaviour makes me out to be a monster!
The 4 yr old is having some behavioural issues in school, he started in september and theres been a few incidents already. when with me, he ignores me, insists he is right when I ask him to do something, along with various other forms of back chatting, violence towards his brother (biting, hitting etc). He can be well behaved, I've seen it and rewarded it but as soon as he is praised for good behaviour, he does something horrendous.
Not sure if he was like this with his old childminder, if he was, she shielded his parents from it.
I know what plan of action I would suggest to his parents but I would love some opinions, as you can imagine it is a touchy subject.

longjane Tue 11-Oct-11 16:00:54

Are you nanny or childminder?

How much do you need this job?

lesstalkmoreaction Tue 11-Oct-11 17:20:12

You need to speak with the parents, but its possible you will be banging your head against a brickwall. It will depend on how the parents handle the behaviour at home or if they are in denial.