Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Help me work out a timetable for out new nanny

(17 Posts)
InHerCupsAgain Tue 04-Oct-11 02:09:39

I'm a newbie to the nanny game and am expecting our new live-in nanny to arrive in three weeks. She's from Eastern Europe but is new to the city (Cambridge) as am I. Although she's been in the UK a couple of years so language is not an issue.
She'll be taking care of my 2 DSs aged 4 and 1 1/2. Initally both of them full time as DS1 isn't enrolled in a local school yet.
I'm trying to work out a timetable of activities as DS1 in particular is very active and both she and the boys will go spare in the house all the time.
Her references are really great but one of her previous employers told me to be sure and lay out exactly what I expect her to do.
I've had a look on MN local and found a local library that does storytime and a few toddler groups but after that I'm stumped. DS2 loves his naps so all daytime activities have to work around that too.
Any pointers on where to get started or should I just let her get on with it??

claudia88 Tue 04-Oct-11 02:43:38

What do you do with your DC's? Have you been looking after them up till now at home or using some other childcare?

We had nannies when DCs were little. I told them all the stuff I did with them e.g. playgroups, one o clock club, local soft play etc and they did them instead of me. I also used to suggest stuff to do each day - either going out or something to do when staying at home plus told them what food was available to make lunch and tea.

When they first started I also arranged for them to do some things with other mums I knew locally - either go to playgroup or just organise informal "playdate" in park. That way I could get the other mums to keep an eye on them and give them a way to meet some other people with little DCs locally.