Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Live in nanny central London - what do they cost?

(21 Posts)
Boobz Mon 03-Oct-11 09:16:44

I am currently living abroad and have 2DC under 3. I am pregnant and DC3 is due in March. When I return to the UK in September next year, I will have a 6 month old, a 2 year old and a 3.5 year old (god help me).

I am hoping to go back to university to study midwifery and thus will need flexible child care whilst I'm studying and doing placements at the hospital (I will be expected to work long shifts and overnights etc). So a normal nursery for all 3 isn't going to cut it and I think the only way to go is to have a live in nanny.

But how much do they cost? We will be living in Streatham, so not the poshest part of London, but still pricey I imagine. She will have her own floor - the loft conversion and en suite shower / bathroom that we are planning to do to our 3 bed house when we get back. Is this enough space for a live in nanny?

I was thinking about the au pair route, supplemented by nursery / reception when the oldest starts in the following September, but from what I've read, this pushes the boundaries of what an au pair can do / can have sole care for, so I think I need to do the nanny thing.

What do people think? I am hoping to bring back my nanny from here (Sudan) but it's not 100% that we can do this yet.

Thanks for any replies!

loopeylu Mon 03-Oct-11 12:05:13

Hi there
We have a brilliant young live in nanny - she has her own double bedroom and bathroom on the top floor of our house. We pay her £360 net a week (and we live in Shepherd's Bush).
I think you're looking at anywhere between £300 - £390 net depending on experience.

yummybunny Mon 03-Oct-11 12:10:21

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Boobz Mon 03-Oct-11 12:47:19

Thanks for the advice guys, it's helpful to get ball park figures.