Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Do you have any advice about nannies for a newborn?

(9 Posts)
roadrunnerbeepbeep Fri 23-Sep-11 11:50:50

I might have to go back to work part time (2/3) days when my little one is only 6 weeks old. Has anyone else hired a nanny for such a small person? Is there anything I should be looking for in particular? And what rate should I expect to pay (I am in Scotland.) Dad will be working from home those days so although the nanny will have sole charge there will be a parent around most of the time.

sailorsgal Fri 23-Sep-11 16:59:35

You will need to find someone with newborn experience of course. I would love a job like this as I work as a maternity nurse but normally have to be away all week which is not ideal. Is this your first baby? Don't underestimate how you will feel at this point. You will feel exhausted and find it very difficult to leave such a little one but if you have to work then so be it.

Ring a couple of agencies to see what is out there. I am on the South Coast and charge around the £10 mark. I am self employed as I change families regularly but you may have to pay tax and NI on top if this is a permanent position as they will be an employee.

Blondeshavemorefun Fri 23-Sep-11 17:04:45

last 2 jobs i had new borns - first was 5 weeks old when started and last job no 3 was born into job so i had her from day 2 when she came home from hospital

obv new born experience is essential - i dont know rates in scotland - but maybe £9gross and you may find that some nannies are put off having a parent work from home and you need to set rules

ie if baby cried , then daddy doesnt rush in

Cacacaz Fri 23-Sep-11 18:47:12