Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

childminders - who pays for activities?

(10 Posts)
hooplahoop Tue 13-Sep-11 09:47:22

Hello,
sorry if this is a silly question, but I'm new to all this... My ds is about to start with a cm. We have agreed the daily rate but are still negotiating paing for activities. There is an art class she is keen to take my ds to, but it costs £4 per session. Who would pay for this, me or her? Money is tight for us both, and I don't want it to be a dealbreaker as I think its going to work really well, but obv I'm keen not to take on any more costs!
Someone mentioned if she pays she could claim it back on tax expenses, is that true does anyone know?

thanks so much

Flisspaps Tue 13-Sep-11 10:03:30

If she wants to take him, then I'd say the CM (and I am a CM myself)

If you were asking her to take him, then you should pay.

She can log it as an expense but we don't get those 'back' per se, just that they're not included in our overall income for the year for tax purposes.

ChitChattingWithKids Tue 13-Sep-11 10:36:21

I think it depends on the rate you pay for the CM. If it is a relatively low rate, then asking for the cost of activities over and above the CM fee is acceptable, some CMs dont' include anything, so activities, food (bar some snacks) are extra.

Our CM includes all of the activities within her costs. It does mean that large outings happen rarely, but lots of playgroups, soft plays, etc.

An0therName Tue 13-Sep-11 10:37:00

hmm tricky -
if she want to take him she should pay I think - she could do art at home I think - I would have that dicussion
I think CM normally pay for toddler groups that kind of thing - and my old CM used to pay for trips out as well - which I felt bad about - but she never took DCs to any classes