Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

money money money (advice please lovely people)

(9 Posts)
MUM2BLESS Wed 03-Aug-11 17:35:35

I am a cm. I have just paid my tax return not too long ago (part 2). I am in the process of working out april 2010 to march 2011 tax return. I will do it online.

Has only one set up that budget plan thing that you pay by direct debit to the tax office? has any one put money aside for their tax return to help them pay their return? I am fairly new to paying tax. Paid my first return in January then again last month.

What system have you set up to help with doing your tax? anyone got an accountant?

I have now set up a system by which I put each month into a clear pocket in my file. I am understanding it much better.

I did it myself but it was time consuming.

Any tips or advance most welcomed grin

Thanks again

HSMM Wed 03-Aug-11 18:08:28

Filing your tax return on line, is definitely nice and easy. That's how I do mine.

I looked at their budget plan, but decided to set up my own savings account instead, so I could get a bit of interest on the money before paying it over. Either way, it's a good idea to put aside some money each month, so you're not faced with a huge bill.

I have not got an accountant, but I do wonder every so often if I would be better off paying for an accountant (if they save me more money than I spend on them). I use the expense rates NCMA issue for my claims for heat & light, wear & tear, etc.

Any system that works for you is a good one. Monthly clear pockets sounds like a good one to me.

MUM2BLESS Wed 03-Aug-11 19:09:32

Thanks HSMM grin

Its amazing how you find things out as you go along. Great ideas about putting money aside (savings account)

Its really made me look at how I manage my business more. The tax people want their money regardless of your finances.