Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

How do you go about hiring a mothers help and what should I expect to pay them?

(21 Posts)
SpottyFrock Sun 24-Jul-11 18:51:44

hi,
We're expected out fourth child in sept and as we have no family and dh works away a lot I was wondering about hiring a mothers help for maybe 6mths. However, when I looked on websites and contacted agencies it all seemed very expensive and not really what I was looking for. But I'll freely admit that im new to this hence the posting to get advice.

I'm not going back to work any time soon so I'll be at home. I'm not looking for anyone to live in either nor to work f/t, maybe more like 3 days a week. Ideally I'd like someone who could arrive about 8am to take older two to school and youngest to nursery. Then maybe to do a bit of ironing or light tidying of playroom or make me a cup of tea if I'm breastfeeding. Then pick up dd2 from nursery at lunchtime and feed her lunch (sandwich or similar). Then nothing special till school pick up at 3.30 and that's it really. It would be helpful if on one of the afternoons she could prepare (but not necessarily cook) a meal and leave it for me to bung in the oven after she's gone.

Is this standard for a mothers help? The agency said 8-10£ per hour but they sounded more like unqualified nannies looking for experience of looking after the kids rather than a mothers help if that makes sense. So is it not a mothers help that I'm looking for? If not, what am I looking for? All advice appreciated. smile

SpottyFrock Sun 24-Jul-11 19:52:16

Just bumping for advice! smile

nbee84 Sun 24-Jul-11 20:15:00