Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Nanny Ante Natal Appointments

(22 Posts)
Jorior Mon 27-Jun-11 21:50:42

Hey ladies,

Our nanny's pregnant and needs time off for ante natal appointments. I know she's entitled to paid time off for these appointments but her upcoming appointment is in the middle of the day and rather than give her the whole day off, which is impractical for us, I was wondering if anyone knows how much paid time off is reasonable/required by law.

Also, is it unreasonable/illegal for us to ask her to try to schedule appointments outside of working hours (she finishes at 3.30 every day).

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Jorior

PaulaMummyKnowsBest Mon 27-Jun-11 22:00:02

when I worked as a nanny, I tried to keep all of my AN appointments during school hours when my charges were at school.

This was easy for me as the midwife came to my doctors surgery every wednesday, 1 - 3 pm.

You can ask her if it is possible for her to work around you and your needs but she may not be able to due to the restrictions of the midwives and doctors

boysrock Mon 27-Jun-11 22:06:46

By law she has to have paid time to get to all the appointments and back. Bear in mind scans and mw appointments can involve waiting around. Some mw appointments can be manipulated for convenience but scans. Not a cat in hells chance.

Oh btw aquanatal and ante natal yoga are now classed as maternity care. Sorry.

Ishani Mon 27-Jun-11 22:08:40

I wasn't working as a nanny but had to schedule appointments where possible for either the beginning or end of the day which might have meant me leaving early or coming in late.
It depends on if she's coming back and if you want to keep her as to how accommodating you want to be, plenty of employers aren't at all.
My friend is a nurse and was expected to nip down on her lunch breaks.

Ishani Mon 27-Jun-11 22:09:44