Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

i could do with some advice now...

(4 Posts)
me2011 Wed 15-Jun-11 20:32:54

I am a nanny,i have taken on this job with a 4 weeks old baby and at the interviw i was asked by parents if i am willing to do cleaning for the family home:i tought about it and i said that as the baby will be asleep few hours per day then i could do once a week cleaning.All agreed,contracted and fine.Now the baby is one year old,i am more busy with him and i really strugle with cleaning the house especially that MB has very high stardands about cleaning,she just come home to show me dust there and there...I told her that i am not good with cleaning and that i have never done cleaning in my previous jobs.I am so stressed about this,i feel like insted of enjoying the little one,which i love,i am more and more busy to make sure the house is clean for when mb comes home.Also I am not doing the cleaning once a week as we first talked but twice and i am not happy about this.
I dont know how to talk to mb about the situation,if i say that i dont want to do cleaning any more she will notbe happy,she may propose a cut in my pay which is just about average nanny rate in surrey,and i cant accept this.

Oh,sorry for the rambling.I mean i can continue to do cleaning once a week if she is willing to pay for a profesional cleanar once a week,asshe has this high expectations.
Please your oponion on how to aproach the situation.Thank you

nannynick Wed 15-Jun-11 20:54:29

How would you usually raise an issue with mumboss? Is she the sort of person who likes things done formally such as by letter or an e-mail, or someone who will chat with you over a cup of tea.