Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Babysitting - how much tax will i/ the family have to pay?

(7 Posts)
sunshinebehindeverycloud Wed 08-Jun-11 21:43:51

I currently work as a nanny and was thinking about doing some babysitting to give myself a little bit of extra money. Then it occured to me - how much - if any tax would I or the family have to pay? I suppose it depends on how many hours I'd be working? in that case, is it emergency taxed? or is it only taxable after working a certain amount of hours a week/month?

Thanks

sunshinebehindeverycloud Wed 08-Jun-11 21:47:20

Forgot to mention it wouldn't be for the family I work for as a nanny....

harpfairy Wed 08-Jun-11 21:59:20

You would do this on a self-employed basis and you will be liable for the tax depending on how much you have earned in your job, which will attract the benefit of your tax free allowance etc. it won't depend on how many hours you work assuming you earn enough to pay BR tax in your actual job, you will be liable for it and have to fill out a return on an SE basis as well. You don't get an additional tax free allowance for hours worked elsewhere.
Or alternatively like every other baby sitter in the land take cash!

sunshinebehindeverycloud Wed 08-Jun-11 22:08:03

I was wondering if that would be possible - until I read on here how people have been talking about adding it on to forms and things along those lines - I always assumed babysitters did just get paid cash in hand. Just thought i'd check as I don't want to end up getting into trouble over a few hours, it just wouldn't be worth it.

cinpin Wed 08-Jun-11 23:50:51

Just take the money in cash nobody will know. I do not know anyone that declares it.

Lily311 Thu 09-Jun-11 08:50:16