Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Will I be able to find a childminder just to do a school run?

(6 Posts)
EBDteacher Fri 27-May-11 20:37:34

When my DS starts in his nursery class I am going to have real problems in the mornings. I'm a teacher and need to be in my own school at 8ish, so ideally I'm going to need a childminder from 7.45am local to his school who will be able to drop him into nursery at 9am.

Do you think I will be able to find someone who will do this for me? A small amount of research suggests that most childminders only work from 8am onwards. Dropping off at this time would not allow me to get to work (which is half an hour commute from home).

I know I need to do more local research- I just wondered if anybody had this sort of arrangement with a childminder or if the childminders out there considered this to be possible?

TIA!

mamamaisie Fri 27-May-11 21:01:58

Most childminders I know, me included, would be happy to start at 7.45am. I think the main problem would be that a nursery aged child is going to be taking up an under 5 place. Childminders are allowed a maximum of 3 children under 5 at any one time, including their own. Two of my own children fall into this age group so I only have 1 under 5 place available. I would not be willing to take on a child in this age group for a school run only. Financially it just doesn't make sense. Most parents need to drop off before 9am so your child would effectively be taking up a full time space for very little money. You might get lucky and find someone who already has an under 5 arriving after 9am who could slot your ds in. So worth asking around!

I am assuming that you don't need to the childminder to collect the child after nursery as you haven't mentioned anything about this.

MUM2BLESS Fri 27-May-11 21:06:32

Hi EBDteacher smile

How many days a week?