Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Older Nannies.

(22 Posts)
mollymax Wed 22-Dec-10 22:35:38

I am a mother of three and I used to work as a Nanny over 20 years ago.
My youngest daughter is due to start school in 2012 and I am thinking of going back to being a part time nanny.
My question is, Do most parents want a younger nanny or a older, more experienced one?
Just a general query as I am not sure.

nannynick Wed 22-Dec-10 22:53:58

Think you may need to define Older.

Some parents are happy to have someone older than they are care for their children.

I'm a similar age to my bosses (one is younger, one is older). Some parents will value the experience having an older nanny brings. Others may feel it could be hard to manage them.

cinnamondanish Wed 22-Dec-10 23:01:49

I'm 34 and my bosses are early 40's so even though I'm an older nanny I'm still younger than them.
Apart from being a nanny you've also raised your own children so you bring so much to the table in an interview.
Assuming you still have energy and your get up and go then there should be no reason to favour a younger nanny if you can still entertain your charges and run around after them.
Also your experience can be a comfort to nervous first time parents who second guess themselves over things.
The only hiccup may be if they hire someone younger they may pay less but then that's not always the case and something you can talk about in interviews.

cinnamondanish Wed 22-Dec-10 23:02:12

I'm 34 and my bosses are early 40's so even though I'm an older nanny I'm still younger than them.
Apart from being a nanny you've also raised your own children so you bring so much to the table in an interview.
Assuming you still have energy and your get up and go then there should be no reason to favour a younger nanny if you can still entertain your charges and run around after them.