Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Advice about setting up as a childminder

(15 Posts)
sims2fan Tue 07-Dec-10 18:26:02

Hi, I haven't really done much research into this idea, but thought I would ask about it here first as I am less likely to get jargon and waffle than I am on other websites!

I am a qualified primary teacher living in an area with a lack of full time jobs. So I have done some long term supply posts, and day to day supply but can't seem to get a permanent teaching job and the day to day supply seems to have dried up also. I have thought about becoming a childminder in the past, but it didn't seem feasible as we live in an upstairs, very small, flat. However, my husband is now getting keen for us to rent somewhere else, and a couple of places we have looked at are proper houses, and one even has a garden! So, I have started to think about childminding again. I love working with children, and would love some of my own but my husband is adamant we can't afford any at the moment. If I did get into childminding then this is a job that I could combine with looking after my own kids.

Without blowing my own trumpet I think I would be a very good childminder. I have taught children from nursery to Year 6, and also worked in a private nursery for a year. I often look longingly at adverts for children's events in my area and think how nice it would be to take children to story times etc. Childminding is something I would really love to do.