Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

Do you lock important things when nanny is in?

(25 Posts)
Colourworld Fri 03-Dec-10 12:02:05

Sorry, it might be a silly question but we have never had a nanny. We are thinking of hiring one for a few hours but then we live in a rented house and cannot put locks wherever we want. I would not have liked a nanny/baby sitter to go through our documents, personal belongings. Also, I am so frighten of hiring one in general. How can I know the person is going to be a decent one and is not going to take indicent pictures of the kids or something else. All these stories make me paranoid to the nannies. Do I need a camera? I know they have to produce a certificate from police but then it does not guarantee anything. I hope I have not offended some good nannies

ItalianLady Fri 03-Dec-10 12:07:39

I used to work as a nanny and I could never understand how the parents trusted me with their baby but didn't let me have a key to their house.

bobblehat Fri 03-Dec-10 12:11:20

I've never had a nanny or been one. However I would suggest that you interview any prospective nannies and don't hire any that seem untrustworthy. Also take up all references, and make sure you have a contract stating what is and isn't acceptable.

Ultimately I suppose there is an argument that you can't 100% trust anyone. But other people will look after your children at some points so you have to trust your instincts.

hth

Theantsgomarching Fri 03-Dec-10 12:12:04

Surely if you can trust her with your kids then that should speak for itself?

autodidact Fri 03-Dec-10 12:12:47

I wouldn't hire a nanny if you feel that way.

Colourworld Fri 03-Dec-10 12:20:13