Talk

Advanced search

Childcare Idea

(39 Posts)
Ideasears Fri 11-Oct-19 21:06:13

I'm a part-time teacher looking to earn more money over the school holidays. I regularly speak to parents on the school playground who struggle for childcare during the holidays. As I'm already CRB checked and I have the space, I'm considering offering childcare to parents at my child's school.
Is this a good idea?
Is it something you would consider.when looking for childcare?
I would provide all food etc and I wouldn't charge much. Maybe £10-15 for the day and a maximum of 6 children at any one time.
Any thoughts?

june2007 Fri 11-Oct-19 21:12:31

If it,s based at the school then it would be like a holiday club. You would need permission from your school and look into the ofsted requirements but yes it would be something I would consider. My afterschool club (based at school.) has done this in the past but not at the mo.I think providing food would be hard though wouldn't it be better for the children to provide own. I think the set up you want would be better in yor own home.

nannynick Fri 11-Oct-19 21:14:28

What country are you in? CRB was replaced by DBS a few years back now, so I presume you are in England or Wales but which one - it might make a difference to the legislation that applies.

Childcare on school premises... I think in England that would be Childcare on Non-Domestic Premises so you would need to meet the minimum staffing ratio and other requirements.

nannynick Fri 11-Oct-19 21:17:06

Or do you mean you live close to the school and you have space at your home, thus you are looking at registering as a childminder?

WaterSheep Fri 11-Oct-19 21:18:52

As I'm already CRB checked

You mean DBS?

As for the idea it won't work.

- Surely it breaches your school's conflict of interest policy?
- You would have to be Ofsted Registered
- If serving food you would need to register your home with environmental health.

For an extra £90 a day it's not worth it.