Talk

Advanced search

Teacher trying to work out childcare options

(34 Posts)
Teachermum2b Mon 30-Sep-19 21:21:45

Hi I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on childcare options. I'm a teacher and I was just wondering if a nanny or childminder would charge for the school holidays. I know nurseries do nowadays and as I get 18 weeks holiday I just want to know if it's realistic that I would be able to find an option where we wont have to pay for 18 weeks extra childcare which I obviously wont be using. Any advice gratefully received.

madrose Mon 30-Sep-19 21:23:54

Au pair? We had one from September until July and they went home during the half terms etc.

LoisLittsLover Mon 30-Sep-19 21:26:29

Our nursery offer fulltime and termtime contracts

PickledLilly Mon 30-Sep-19 21:28:10

Many Childminders will offer term time only contracts.

HighwayCat Mon 30-Sep-19 21:28:15

I have a childminder who has a term time only option. The nursery I use also does once you’re on the 15/30 funded hours scheme.

OctoberLovers Mon 30-Sep-19 21:28:29

Some childminders would , but not many nannies i dont think.

Each is individual, and when looking, state this requirement

Moreisnnogedag Mon 30-Sep-19 21:28:57

Some childminders do term time only so its worth asking around. How old are your dc?

saraclara Mon 30-Sep-19 21:29:14

I had a child minder who actively preferred having teachers' children, as it meant she could focus on her own children during the holidays. Consequently she didn't ask for payment for holidays because it was her choice to work that way.

I don't know how you'd find someone like that though. Fortunately I just met mine randomly at playgroup!

mnahmnah Mon 30-Sep-19 21:30:59