Talk

Advanced search

post forceps - could it be better next time?

(27 Posts)
thirtysomething Tue 01-Jul-03 21:45:37

I have had two births - 1 ds which was easy up to second stage then just managed to avoid forceps after 2 and a hlaf hours' pushing after one final push (loads of stitches though!) then horrific second birth - dd's back against mine, prolonged second stage and final forceps and huge episiotomy - felt completely traumatised for two years after and still occasional throbbing pain which feels like bruising. Have now finally begun to consider a third pregnancy but am terrified of having to go through the same trauma - is there any way of making sure you can have a c-section? At the moment it's seriously putting me off although deep down I'd like another child....

monkey Wed 02-Jul-03 11:12:39

I'm no expert, but I thought you could just request a section, and especially given your circumstances, i would've thought you could have had one.

I can really sympathise. I had 2 very different, but not v. enjoyable birth experiences. 1st was emergency section, which itself wasn't too bad, but long & painful recovery (partly poor post natal care, partly bad luck i think). 2nd had huge episiotomy & also 3rd degree tear, lots of stiches etc. My pain & trauma lasted 1 year, not 2 like yours & it was a nightmare. I am now pg with number 3 & seriously worried about the delivery. Also considering elective, because can't contemplate a whole year of pain. it's just too much.