Talk

Advanced search

First baby and would like to avoid pain relief or am I being silly?

(91 Posts)
mrswee Sun 26-Jul-09 09:55:01

Hi

I am 31 weeks pregnant just now and planning for a natural birth for my first baby.

However of course I have no experience of the pain I may endure and I am wondering if I am just setting myself up to be traumatised for the sake of being stubborn!!? I do have a couple of friends who are struggling to recover mentally from recent first births.

I know birth plans often go out the window and that I can always change my mind and scream for pain killers if I really need... but I'd like to try to be positive about at least attempting to do this.

But can people come and talk to me about their good experiences and give tips on how to cope through a first natural birth?

and also if anyone who went down this road and really regrets it and feels strongly enough to say I maycbe making a mistake please also speak up!

thanks in advance

BCLass Sun 26-Jul-09 10:00:51

I had DD (my first and only so far) baby with no pain relief, at home in a birth pool.

She was small (6.3) and in a good position, which I am sure helped.

I never got to the place where I FELT i NEEDED IT, BUT THAT'S NOT TO SAY IT WASN'T PAINFUL - BUT (oops) it was always manageable, iyswim.

I think if I had been in hospital and/or not had the pool couldn't have done it without.

But remember, there are no medals for doing it without pain relief, if that's what you need!

amisuchabadmummy Sun 26-Jul-09 10:05:16

I had DS (first baby) without pain relief. It was fine. I think the good thing is, that although it is very painful, you do get a break between contractions to gather yourself.

The only thing I would say is remember to breathe. Concentrate on your breathing all the time. And keep saying to yourself, it'll pass, which it will.