Talk

Advanced search

Natural C-section

(10 Posts)
lssb Tue 14-Jul-09 16:17:38

I'm 28 weeks pregant with third and after DS1 born by emergency c-section and DS2 by elective c-section I'm interested in the more natural c-section that has been pioneered recently and want to find out if anyone else has experience of it.

I'm due to give birth at Queen Charlotte and Chelsea Hospital in Hammersmith, London where apparently they've done this 'natural' c-section but the recent obstrician I saw knew nothing about this. I'm particularly interested as found with both DS1 and DS2 they were both freaked out for weeks after the birth which I think relates to being 'whipped' out really quickly without the adjustment / process of a vaginal birth.

PacificDogwood Tue 14-Jul-09 16:24:03

I have no personal experience (had "normal" emCS) but I thought this article was interesting.

Hopefully somebody will be along who can talk about it with more competence than I.

Whatever happens, good luck to you smile.

LeninGrad Tue 14-Jul-09 16:36:21

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

maygirl Wed 15-Jul-09 23:49:07

Prof Fisk has moved to Oz, but it's strange that obstetrician hadn't heard of it if they've done over 100 at Queen Charlottes. Maybe try and contact the senior midwife?
I saw this on TV and it looked lovely, made me cry (have had a EMCS).
They waited with just the baby's head out of the mum's tummy, and the uterus muscles contracted round the baby and you saw lots of fluid squeezed from the baby's lungs out through its nose and mouth, like after a vaginal birth. They said this helped prevent the usual post cs breathing difficulties.

StarlightMcKenzie Thu 16-Jul-09 08:57:56

Message withdrawn

mamarug Fri 17-Jul-09 15:50:58