Talk

Advanced search

Premature birth

(17 Posts)
ronniec Wed 20-Apr-05 14:35:50

My friend just gave birth at 25 weeks and baby is in ICBU, I know there's lots of helpful info out there but just wanted suggestions on any ways to be supportive etc, its so hard to know what to say...

uwila Wed 20-Apr-05 15:16:03

Oh my. What happened? Why was it delivered so early? Do you know anything about the prognosis? They do say a baby at this age has a chance of survival. Oh I'm no expert. I'm sorry I just don't really know what to say either...

Ellbell Wed 20-Apr-05 15:18:52

I think it's important to acknowledge the birth of her baby and to congratulate her on becoming a mother. I think it's very easy to feel 'not a real mum' when you give birth so early and your baby is taken away from you and in an incubator, on oxygen, whatever. If your friend can't even hold her baby (or not for long) or feed him or whatever, she may well be feeling as if her own 'motherhood' has been taken away from her too. I think that if people are scared to say 'congratulations on the birth of your baby' it sounds as if they have already 'written off' that baby's chances... I don't know if that makes sense...

Does she have other children? She probably wants to spend as much time as possible at the hospital right now, so you could offer to look after any other children for a while for her. Or could you cook some meals that she can put in the freezer for when she needs them? I don't know really, but those kinds of practical things are probably helpful, as well as moral support.

Sorry if this isn't very helpful. I really hope things go well for her.

RTKangaMummy Wed 20-Apr-05 15:41:58

Send her a card but not flowers {not allowed them in NNU ITU}

If you buy a teddy for baby please make sure it is very very tiny

a reg sized one will be way to big

Offer lifts to hosp.

look after older children or animals

DON'T KEEP PHONING

USE TEXT INSTEAD