Talk

Advanced search

Good bye homebirth, now how can I get this baby out before having to be induced?

(24 Posts)
caramelbunny Sun 12-Oct-08 11:32:57

Waters ruptured yesterday morning at 6 am when I was 38+4. Was planning a lovely homebirth so phoned midwife and settled down for everything to progress nicely.

Anyway, nothing happened so had to report to hospital this morning, I thought for antibiotics but they wanted to induce me.

After checking that everything was ok, I have been allowed to come home and don't have to go back til tomorrow when they will definitely want to induce me.

Already gutted about no home birth. What can I do now to avoid induction? Or is it not that bad?

theyoungvisiter Sun 12-Oct-08 11:50:20

I am not an expert but I think that NICE guidelines state that you should be OFFERED an induction but that you can be treated with expectant management for up to 96 hours (4 days).

Some info on it here as well as stats showing how many women go into spontaneous labour in that time.

As I say, I am not an expert so please don't treat this as gospel, but you could always ask your care provider what the current NICE guidelines are for your case, and why they are recommending a more cautious approach.

theyoungvisiter Sun 12-Oct-08 11:51:57

btw I was induced and it was completely fine. So it doesn't have to be the end of everything smile

Good luck whatever you decide...

castille Sun 12-Oct-08 11:52:53

Try acupuncture. It works sometimes...

If it doesn't though, I had an induction for my third and it was really really fine, SO much better than I'd fearedsmile

Good luck!

caramelbunny Sun 12-Oct-08 12:04:25

Thank you. Was surprised that they let me come home so quickly today. Maybe after another 24 hours waiting around the idea of induction will be more appealing tomorrow.

bohemianbint Sun 12-Oct-08 12:23:46