Talk

Advanced search

Home Births 'have been suspended' in my area

(24 Posts)
waldorfsalad Fri 15-Aug-08 20:02:17

I had my first mw appointment today and told her I was considering a homebirth. She said that the trust has suspended homebirths atm due to staff shortages etc. Its temporary but she doesn't know how temporary and it may not be resolved by the time I come to give birth.

I am fairly certain that they cannot not let me have one but I don't know what to do next.

Boobz Fri 15-Aug-08 20:44:47

Hi Waldorf,

I am pretty new to the HB stuff, but I'm sure they can't do that. They have to provide HB care by law.

Contact AIMS. And read up on the letters you can send to your SOM, here:

http://www.mumsnet.com/Talk/1365/573041

In fact, join that thread, as we're all planning HBs and there's lots of info on there already. I hope to build quite a library on it by the time I pop (at home!) in March next year.

Good luck - let us know how you get on.

Spidermama Fri 15-Aug-08 20:48:36

God this annoys me. I'm sure you're entitiled to a home birth.

How DARE they try to tell women where they should do this very basic, fundamental, vital, life changing thing? angry

The way in which respect is pitted towards the medics as baby-extractors, rather than the mothers as birth givers, has never failed to amaze me. Why have we women let it get like this? It's so wrong.

Sorry to be dramatic but this winds me up at a very deep level.

thisisyesterday Fri 15-Aug-08 20:50:31

pah, well they'll know well in advance that you're planning a hb.
it's up to them to make sure they have enough staff to cover it. they CAN and should get bank staff in if they have staff shortages

notsoslimnow Sat 16-Aug-08 09:33:18