Talk

Advanced search

Driving to hospital

(53 Posts)
nousername123 Fri 24-Nov-17 20:12:24

I'm a very confident driver, my partner can drive but isn't confident and stresses me out when he drives. The hospital is 40 minutes away. I can't afford a taxi. Has anyone else driven themselves?

toomuchfaster Fri 24-Nov-17 20:17:48

We were told strictly not too! Also no way would I have been able too, too busy concentrating on the contractions!!

tampinfuminragin Fri 24-Nov-17 20:19:31

I drove in early labour when contractions were few and far between x

Ginmakesitallok Fri 24-Nov-17 20:20:15

Don't be so fucking stupid!!! Jesus.

QueenNovo Fri 24-Nov-17 20:21:45

How many weeks are you? I suggest your partner practises the hospital drive a few times before your due date if possible so he knows the route well in case you are unable to drive.

Percephone Fri 24-Nov-17 20:21:54

I take it you haven't been in labour before.

gamerchick Fri 24-Nov-17 20:22:14

DO NOT drive to hospital when you’re in Labour!

Put some money aside for a taxi if you have to!

honeysucklejasmine Fri 24-Nov-17 20:23:56

Are you joking?!

TheOriginalNNB Fri 24-Nov-17 20:25:23

In early labour, yes. But you won’t be driving to hospital in early labour... they don’t want you until you’re more established.

I couldn’t sit on my backside so there’s no way I could have driven anywhere

Wolfiefan Fri 24-Nov-17 20:26:01

Hahahahahahaha! First baby? By the time you are ready to go to hospital you won't be in any fit state to talk let alone drive.
Partner needs to get some practice driving. You won't be stressing about his driving whilst in labour. You will have plenty to distract you!
And how would you get home from hospital?

Duckstar Fri 24-Nov-17 20:30:02

If you were in an accident your insurers are unlikely to indemnify you. This could have massive financial consequences. Your partner will have to drive you.

shittyshitybangbang Fri 24-Nov-17 20:31:26